I Want My Gay TV: Check Out “Botineras” from Argentina

I have to admit I haven’t kept up with any regular series much this season.  Tonight I caught most of “Brothers & Sisters”, which I had watched religiously through the first two seasons.  It’s still a good show, but there’s a predictability to it.  It’s nice to see Kevin and Scotty’s storyline given equal status to all the others, but something pretty big is going to have to happen before the end of the season; otherwise, I’m ready to call this one “stale”.

Every time I click over to Logo, either it’s current re-runs of “Rupaul’s Drag Race” or re-runs of “Buffy the Vampire Slayer”, something I never watched even when it came out.  The second season of “Drag Race” is probably one season too many.  It was something unique in season one, but more of the same just hasn’t pulled me in this go-round.

 

Manuel (Cristian Sancho) and Lalo (Ezequiel Castaño) in "Botineras" from Argentina

 

Something that I hope will be syndicated here in the U.S. on Spanish-language TV is a soap opera (telenovela) out of Argentina, called Botineras.  I just ran across some clips on youtube and with a little further digging found out it’s a show that started last fall and centers on the story of a professional futbol (soccer) team and, of course, all of the intermingling lives.  One of the stories is the gay romance between, Lalo and Manuel, two of the players, one of whom is married.

Several people have posted clips containing the Lalo-Manuel segments on youtube.  So far, there are 15-18 parts, depending on who uploaded them, but they are found in different places.  Start here for Part 1 just in Spanish.  If you want to see it with English subtitles, go here.  I only found the first 8 parts subtitled so far.  I found Parts 14 and 15 here and here.

I’m going to try to embed Part 15, which is recent.  If you watch 15, you’ll be hooked and want to go back and start over with Part 1.

So who’s going to call Telemundo or Univison to get them to syndicate this show here?

Leave a comment