After the Rain and Flooding–A Long Drive Home

With the main entrances to I-10 West still closed at evening rush hour, it seemed like there was only one or two ways to head in that direction.  After maneuvering my way on crowded streets in the courthouse area, I finally got back on Washington near the Post Office.  Why, oh why did my old habits of my daily routine override my common sense?  Instead of staying on Washington and just enduring all of  the stop lights, I turned and took my regular Memorial route, and what normally takes me about 12 minutes to drive a little more than five miles took me nearly an hour and a half.  Because of the water covering Memorial near Shepherd (which in the back of my mind I knew it would be), everyone had to exit on Waugh.  So there we were, bullies, wimps, and others–three lanes of us all finally squeezed like dried toothpaste onto the bristles of Waugh.

Compare shots of the frequently flooded Travis Street Exit.

Travis Street Exit 8:30 AM, April 28, 2009

Travis Street Exit 8:30 AM, April 28, 2009 (The water here rose more after this.)

Travis Stree Exit 5:15 PM, April 28, 2009

Travis Street Exit 5:15 PM, April 28, 2009

2 Responses

  1. I heard from a friend about the storm and saw the picture of the cross road between I10 and Belt 8. It was terrible.
    When I visited there, I also suffered heavy storm.

    Take care and avoid getting wet.

    • I took some pictures from the car on my way home; I should add them here. Do you know the Police Officer Memorial off of Memorial? It was completely surrounded by water. Also people were canoeing in that park next to Waugh, where the basketball courts are. This morning the water was much lower, still high in the bayou, but back into just the normal places, and I had no trouble coming to work.

Leave a Reply

