Out and About

I really like having a free day, like today. It doesn’t count as a vacation day, isn’t somehow part of the weekend. The rain here has not been bad, constant rain becoming heavier when the squall lines come through. A rain day is different than a snow day; not that we get snow days here in Houston. On most rain days, if it doesn’t last all day or isn’t as bad as expected, like this one with Edouard, you can get out. Since it hadn’t been that bad this morning, I took a shower, pulled out the umbrella, got in the car and headed out just to see how things were. The traffic wasn’t heavy at all, but there were people out; I suppose a lot of people had the day off like me. Most of the stores and restaurants were open, but I noticed that a few places were closed.

I took a little jaunt down to Montrose, the part of town I lived in for a good long time. I like living here by the park, but when I go down to Montrose, because I lived there for so long, I feel like I’m back home. Montrose is what people call the gay part of Houston. It is still, but was more so in the past. These days it’s gotten filled with so many old “yuppies” and “yurbies” (my word–young urbanites) living in all those town houses that have taken the places of the big old house and older apartment buildings, so it’s changed somewhat. It feels like they’ve brought suburbia into Montrose. However, it still has quite a bit of same flavor of the past. I had gotten tired of some of the flavor–the hustlers and druggies and more–and that was one of the reasons I moved.

Here are some shots of my little outing on this rainy day:

Kroger on Montrose--the gayest Kroger in Houston

Kroger on Montrose--the gayest Kroger in Houston

Montrose Blvd.--looks desolate,but there were some cars

Montrose Blvd.--looks desolate,but there were some cars

General Joe's--been eating there for years

General Joe's--been eating there for years

JR's--One of the oldest gay bars in Houston

JR's--One of the oldest gay bars in Houston

Leave a Reply

